Time Marches On

… or crawls or walks. At 8 1/2 months, we don’t really sit up yet. While Christmas is in the air, I’m becoming more aware of the gross motor skill differences between Addie and other children her age. In some ways, I consider myself lucky to have a baby who doesn’t move much, yet. I don’t have to chase her around- she stays on her play mat and happily rolls from one toy to the next, but other times I feel sad. I want to wear her on my body. I want to have her sit up and look at me. I don’t want to worry every time she bumps her head that there will be some severe injury. I don’t want to feel the kyphosis in her spine. All good things in time… Sometimes, time takes a long while to come.

It’s Christmas Eve, and as people are tucked away in their beds, I am feeling Addie’s soft spot to check for a buldge. Like I do every night. I wait until she is asleep, then gently feel her head to make sure that there are no signs of hydrocephalus. Then I let her sleep. Just as Santa is making his way down our chimney, I will wake up to make sure Addie’s snoring isn’t getting worse. When the milk has been finished and the cookies all gone, and the big man is on his way to the next house, I will lay back down to pretend to sleep ’til dawn.

I love Christmas, but maybe my love for the season is rivaled with hate for it, in equal parts. I miss my Dad. I hate that we barely put up lights to save on an electric bill we already can’t afford. I wish my whole family could be together and not spread out down the east coast. And I wish I knew what the future held for Addie. There are a million things that can go wrong in life, I just want one wish for Addie’s first Christmas: A lifetime of happiness for my baby girl.

I remember last year at this time:

Christmas 2011

We were in Florida and I could not wait for Addie to arrive. My handsome nephew, Mark, had been born almost a month prior, and I could not stop snuggling on his little self. I couldn’t even dream of a human so small and fragile. But then, my Addie came.

Florida 2011

Brand new Addie

This face is wise and curious:

Addie

She is, as far as I can tell, the reason I am here in this world. But sometimes, I wonder if I am good enough for her. Am I willing to wait for all the good things? Will I show her the right path to take, but let her choose her way? I want so badly to live in the now, but it’s so hard when the past is always nipping at your heels.

My dear baby girl. You are the comfort and joy, the wondrous night, what makes me laugh all the way home where you snuggle into me and keep me warm, you’re my good cheer and you help me live in Heavenly peace. You are my miracle. Christmas, or not.

Happy holidays to all who celebrate. May we never know what God intended for our lives, just that He intended them for us.

6 Comments

Filed under Family Life, Parenting

6 responses to “Time Marches On

  1. Such a beautiful post! Wished you and your beautiful family peace and joy this Christmas season. xoxo
    ~Megan
    (ps…I added your button to my blog!) 🙂

  2. Bless, I can really relate to this. My daughter is 18 months old with hypochondroplasia and her fontanel is nearly closed now, yet I can’t go to sleep without checking. And the waking up and checking if the snoring is any worse… Some days I think, our life is so hard, but I am a old enough to know, that everyone else’s life only seems so much easier from the outside.

  3. In this one post you have said everything that has crossed my mind today. Today in the bath I noticed Gabbys kyphosis, and it struck me a little harder than it had before. It was because of how she was leaning, that made it more pronounced. But never the less I have been worrying on it all day. I check Gabbys head often, while she nurses, sleeps, when she is in my arms I kiss it, just to make sure…..I think we will always worry a little extra about our beautiful girls. And my goodness don’t ever worry about being enough for Addie, you are more than enough!! You are such a wonderful momma! And I always look forward to reading your posts, here and on facebook! Merry Christmas to you and your family!

Leave a comment