Search for what?

2012 was amazing.
I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl:

Blessed Beginnings, photo

Blessed Beginnings, photo

She was diagnosed with dwarfism, and we became a part of a wonderful organization we consider extended family:

LPA

LPA

And I began this blog with all of you amazing readers and followers!
IMGx_7853And so, as I recap my year’s stats, I look to the search terms and I am SO excited to see many of them. Many people landed on my site searching for charts, medical information and generally looking for A is For Adelaide. I am so proud that people came to my page when looking for milestone and growth charts- it’s why I made a page specifically for these things. I want people to get the basic information they need, quick. As a parent, when we received Addie’s diagnosis, I wanted information, and I wanted it in an easy fashion. While I hope that parents come back and read my blog, I want them to get the answers and info they need without having to read about Addie to get it.

While that’s all heart-felt and just what every blogger wants (readers who come to their page just for what they’re looking for), we too, rely on accidental traffic. Hoping people stop by accidentally and stay on purpose. I know this happened from a few readers who have contacted me to say they their family member was diagnosed, and they searched random things until they came across Addie’s page. Now- they’re hooked on her. I love hearing how other parents, aunts, uncles, grandparents and friends are watching Addie grow up and using her medical information and daily life to navigate their own.

Twenty-three people came to this blog searching for these terms: beautiful people with dwarfism, beautiful people with achondroplasia, miracles with achondroplasia, cute baby with dwarfism and cute people with dwarfism. I have to say that Addie is, indeed, all of these things.

Then, there are those terms that make you go… WHAAAAAAAT? As in, what did you mean to search for with these terms? Things like tall beauty big breast belly tattoo, cute tattoo’s on there’s your hand, and baby hands out of shirt. I just scratch my head. These three terms led to four hits on the site. Hmmmmm…

I was elated when I saw that there were numerous people searching for craft projects that also come to AisForAdelaide! I have a broader reach- hoorah! I was also puzzled when I saw lots of hits for Adelaide and different foods. Then I got it… people were searching for food stores in Adelaide, Australia. HA! I hope to take Addie there one day… and if I ever need frozen cranberries in Adelaide, I will not search on this blog!

Lastly, the top 7 strangest search terms, in no particular order, bringing in a total of 20 total hits:
1. sexy sweat
2. sweat
3. my sexy mom
4. sweat sexy
5. exiled mothers
6. sexy mom
7. sexy mom runner

I couldn’t make these up if I tried. But, I’ll take the last one as my own description, please 🙂

I hope 2013 brings more searches for the good stuff, the “meat”, as I like to call my more-medical information. But I also hope that people come looking to learn about Addie. To see that a child with dwarfism is just like their child in many ways, and not in other ways, too. I hope people come looking for a new crock-pot recipe, what movie moved me to tears, if there is a new toy that their child needs to have, or to see if I’ve gotten my butt in-shape for another half-marathon. I hope family across this country keeps coming to see this little beauty grow up. I hope friends keep coming to share the experience of parenthood with me. I hope, most of all, to keep educating through my experiences, about dwarfism.

Lastly, I hope when you search for true love, happily ever after, or miracle you see AisForAdelaide at the top of your search.

8 Comments

Filed under #educate, Community, Parenting

8 responses to “Search for what?

  1. I’m cracking up at some of the search terms! You just never know what might bring someone to your page! But I’m glad that people are coming here for information. You are helping others with your words, and informing the rest of us with information we didn’t know before. Thanks for sharing your stories. 🙂

  2. It is so weird what can land people on your blog sometimes! I’m glad you have found a sense of community. That is what I love best about blogging is meeting people I would have otherwise never met, even if it is just online. They share our stories and commonality, and it feels great. 🙂

  3. Those search terms are fantastic (my blog name used to be “Loving Mom 2 Boys” so I’m familiar with the freaky search terms). I absolutely love your blog, you do an amazing job sharing your families story along with the facts and the science behind every test and procedure she goes through.

    And lastly – I completely agree that it is no surprise that anyone who searches for cute baby with dwarfism would find this page, Adelaide is a doll!!!

  4. I should probably take a look at my search terms.These are awesome. BTW, this “Hoping people stop by accidentally and stay on purpose.”? Exactly.

  5. Wow, that last line of this post…loved it!! I”m sure that just sharing your story and everything you’re learning along this journey is definitely helping others. Cheers to 2013 and happy ever afters

  6. Oh my gosh, TOO funny! I always love what crazy searches people do to end up where they land. I’m sure many people who land on your sweet blog end up staying because of your sweet Adelaide!

Leave a comment