First Letter

So… There are so many times I find myself wanting to tell Addie things- or to write her a letter, but I know I will lose it in a move, or it will fade and wither. So, I started a new category that I hope to utilize from time-to-time to write letters, notes, etc. to Addie. Something she will always have and can look back on- like her baby book. Here I go…

Dear Adelaide,

Tonight Daddy left for a last minute business trip to the UK. It sounds more glamorous than it is, trust me. As you finished your milk, you looked at me, mouth covered in sticky drool, and smiled. Your two white teeth stared at me from the bottom of your gums. It was like you knew what I needed at just that moment.
I lifted you from your back and burped you- which, in true Addie style, you did in my face- followed by some pterodactyl screeches sounding somewhat like dadadadadadada. I asked you for a hug and pat, pat, pats. You collapsed into me and patted my shoulder.

You, dearest girl, are why Mommy was born into this world. I never knew how much Mima loved me until I held you, and somehow my love for you grows stronger every minute. I feel like I might explode sometimes. There are nights I go to bed and stare at the monitor, your little bum in the air and head turned to the right, and I cry. I don’t know why- I’ve never been much of a crier, but you just bring me to my knees.

These next 5 days and 4 nights might be miserable as I toss and turn wishing I could roll into Daddy’s arms and snuggle to sleep, but I know that I have my girl to snuggle with in the mornings and during nap time, and that we have a lot to look forward to this week!

For starters, your first PODS class is Wednesday! And your first Easter is this coming weekend. Today, Miss Lynette (owner of Exalt Photography) asked us to come model for her (mostly you as you’re the most beautiful!). You got to meet your first real bunny and you were so brave- giving him pat, pat, pats and playing with his ears. I’m so proud to be your Mom, sweet girl. You don’t just wow me, but everyone who meets you falls in love with you. Your energy is intoxicating and your smile and always happy demeanor mesmerizes anyone who has ever been near you.

Exalt Photography

This first year is coming to a close, and there will be seconds and thirds, tenths and sixteenths in our lives- I will cherish each one. Because you give your all, I will give mine.

I love you, beautiful. I always will,

Mom

5 Comments

Filed under Dear Adelaide

5 responses to “First Letter

  1. What a beautiful letter! 🙂 Addie will love reading your letter and your blog when she grows up. 🙂 She is lucky to have you as her Mom. 🙂

  2. Susan Worth-LaManna

    Smiling…with tears.

  3. Becky W.

    So beautiful! Open a email address to her and email her, so when she’s old enough she can go back and read her emails from her Mom!

Leave a comment